News Release 

View the Feb. 9 AAAS Kavli Science Journalism Awards ceremony

American Association for the Advancement of Science

Scientific Meeting Announcement

We invite you to join us on Tuesday, Feb. 9, at 12:00 p.m. U.S. Eastern time for the award ceremony honoring the Diamond Anniversary winners of the AAAS Kavli Science Journalism Awards. It is being held in conjunction with the virtual 2021 AAAS Annual Meeting.

You can attend the ceremony as a Newsroom registrant or by registering for a free Annual Meeting Public Events Passport at:

We encourage you to register in advance. To view the event on Tuesday, go to:

There were entries from 54 countries for the 2020 awards contest, with winners for the first time from Indonesia and Kenya. Six of the award-winning entries feature notable explanatory and investigative reporting on the COVID-19 pandemic. More information on the winning entries, which were announced in November, is available at

The ceremony will be hosted by Laura Helmuth, editor in chief of Scientific American. Sudip Parikh, AAAS CEO and executive publisher of the Science family of journals, will participate, as will Eric Marshall, director of prizes and special programs for The Kavli Foundation, which has endowed the global awards program.


Disclaimer: AAAS and EurekAlert! are not responsible for the accuracy of news releases posted to EurekAlert! by contributing institutions or for the use of any information through the EurekAlert system.