Public Release: 

Landmark findings to be presented by Brigham and Women's experts at ESC Congress 2017

Brigham and Women's Hospital

Boston, MA-- Beginning Saturday, August 26, Brigham and Women's Hospital cardiologists and researchers will be presenting at the ESC Congress 2017, organized by the European Society of Cardiology. Press releases on BWH presentations include:

Paul Ridker, MD
Embargoed until 10:00UK/11:00 CEST/5:00 a.m. EDT, Sunday, August 27
Findings to be simultaneously published in both the New England Journal of Medicine and The Lancet.

  • CANTOS - The Canakinumab Anti-Inflammatory Thrombosis Outcomes Study

Christopher Cannon, MD
Embargoed until 13:00 UK/14:00 CEST/8:00 a.m. EDT, Sunday, August 27
Findings to be simultaneously published in the New England Journal of Medicine

  • RE-DUAL PCI: Dual Antithrombotic Therapy with Dabigatran After Percutaneous Coronary Intervention in Patients with Atrial Fibrillation

Robert Giugliano, MD
Embargoed until 13:00 UK/14:00 CEST/8:00 a.m. EDT, Monday, August 28
Findings to be simultaneously published in The Lancet

  • Clinical Efficacy and Safety of Achieving Very Low LDL-C Levels With the PCSK9 Inhibitor Evolocumab in the FOURIER Outcomes Trial

Additional presentations:

Deepak Bhatt, MD, MPH
Embargoed until 10:00 UK/11:00 CEST/5:00 p.m. EDT, Monday, August 28

  • Dual antiplatelet therapy beyond 12 months?

Embargoed until 15:30 UK/16:30 CEST/10:30 a.m. EDT, Tuesday, August 29
  • State of the Art: P2Y12 inhibitors in acute coronary syndromes

The following BWH experts are available to discuss their involvement in the following studies:

Eugene Braunwald, MD

  • Clinical effects of anacetrapib in people with established vascular disease: Results of the Randomized EValuation of the Effects of Anacetrapib through Lipid-modification (HPS3/TIMI55-REVEAL) trial
    *The BWH TIMI Study Group was a partner in this research

Deepak Bhatt, MD, MPH

  • COMPASS
  • COMPASS PAD
  • RE-DUAL PCI
  • MAUDE TAVR

Marc Sabatine, MD

  • A Naturally Randomized Trial Comparing the Effect of Genetic Variants that Mimic CETP Inhibitors and Statins on the Risk of Cardiovascular Disease

###

Brigham and Women's Hospital (BWH) is a 793-bed nonprofit teaching affiliate of Harvard Medical School and a founding member of Partners HealthCare. BWH has more than 4.2 million annual patient visits and nearly 46,000 inpatient stays, is the largest birthing center in Massachusetts and employs nearly 16,000 people. The Brigham's medical preeminence dates back to 1832, and today that rich history in clinical care is coupled with its national leadership in patient care, quality improvement and patient safety initiatives, and its dedication to research, innovation, community engagement and educating and training the next generation of health care professionals. Through investigation and discovery conducted at its Brigham Research Institute (BRI), BWH is an international leader in basic, clinical and translational research on human diseases, more than 3,000 researchers, including physician-investigators and renowned biomedical scientists and faculty supported by nearly $666 million in funding. For the last 25 years, BWH ranked second in research funding from the National Institutes of Health (NIH) among independent hospitals. BWH is also home to major landmark epidemiologic population studies, including the Nurses' and Physicians' Health Studies and the Women's Health Initiative as well as the TIMI Study Group, one of the premier cardiovascular clinical trials groups. For more information, resources and to follow us on social media, please visit BWH's online newsroom.

Disclaimer: AAAS and EurekAlert! are not responsible for the accuracy of news releases posted to EurekAlert! by contributing institutions or for the use of any information through the EurekAlert system.