Public Release: 

AIUM honors ultrasound pioneers

American Institute of Ultrasound in Medicine

LAUREL, MD--Lennard Greenbaum, MD, president of the American Institute of Ultrasound in Medicine (AIUM), along with other luminaries in the field of ultrasound, presented awards to several individuals who have significantly contributed to the field of medical diagnostic ultrasound at the 2006 AIUM Annual Convention in Washington, DC, on March 24, 2006.

The 2006 William J. Fry Memorial Lecture Award recipient was Lawrence Platt, MD. William J. Fry was a physicist with a strong interest in ultrasound in biology and medicine, whose innovative research efforts advanced the field of diagnostic sonography. In 1969, the William J. Fry Memorial Lecture Award, which recognizes an individual who has significantly contributed, in his or her particular field, to the scientific progress of medical diagnostic ultrasound, was established in his honor.

The 2006 Joseph H. Holmes Pioneer Award was awarded to David Sahn, MD, in the category of clinical science, and to Douglas Miller, PhD, in basic science. The award was established in 1977 to honor individuals who have contributed to the growth and development of diagnostic ultrasound. Joseph H. Holmes, MD, was an important figure to both the field of diagnostic ultrasound and the AIUM.

The 2006 Distinguished Sonographer Award was presented to Marie De Lange, BS, RT, RDMS, RDCS. Established in 1997, the Distinguished Sonographer Award is a means of honoring an AIUM member sonographer whose outstanding contributions to the development of diagnostic ultrasound warrant special merit.

The 2006 Honorary Fellow Awards were presented to Genevieve Berger, MD, PhD and Kurt Jaeger, MD. The Honorary Fellow Award recognizes nonmembers who have contributed significantly to the field of ultrasound. Drs Berger and Jaeger will receive a complimentary lifetime membership to the AIUM.


*Photographs and biographies are available for each winner.

The American Institute of Ultrasound in Medicine is a multidisciplinary association dedicated to advancing the safe and effective use of ultrasound in medicine through professional and public education, research, development of guidelines, and accreditation.

Disclaimer: AAAS and EurekAlert! are not responsible for the accuracy of news releases posted to EurekAlert! by contributing institutions or for the use of any information through the EurekAlert system.