Public Release: 

Chemists honor NSF Director, Congressmen for supporting science, competitiveness

American Chemical Society

National Science Foundation Director Arden L. Bement, Jr., Ph.D., and Congressmen Frank Wolf (R-VA.) and Ron Kind, (D-WI.), have been announced as the 2006 winners of the American Chemical Society's annual Public Service Awards. They were recognized for their contributions to scientific research and education and for their help in shaping public policies that would enhance America's competitive strength.

ACS, the world's largest scientific society, made the presentations Tuesday, April 25, in a ceremony at the Rayburn House Office Building on Capitol Hill. [Ed. note: Photos of the event are available upon request.] The ceremony was in conjunction with the Council on Undergraduate Research's 2006 "Posters on the Hill" event, which featured 80 research posters from students around the nation. ACS has given its Public Service Awards for the past ten years to members of Congress and government leaders to acknowledge their support of science and education.

"ACS is pleased to recognize NSF Director Bement and Congressmen Wolf and Kind for the many contributions they have made to science, technology and education policy. This year, with the focus on the American Competitiveness Initiative, it is particularly important that we work with these leaders and others to assure that science and technology innovation continue to be a force for a better future," said ACS President E. Ann Nalley, Ph.D.

The awardees were recognized for the following contributions:

  • As Director of the National Science Foundation, Dr. Bement has been a forceful advocate for increased funding for high-leverage, basic physical sciences at NSF. Further, he has helped clarify the national benefit of increased investment in basic research. He has served his country in multiple roles, including Director of the National Institute of Standards and Technology and as Acting Director and then Director of the National Science foundation.
  • Rep. Wolf, Chair of the House Appropriations Subcommittee on Science, the Departments of State, Justice and Commerce and Related Agencies, is a supporter of increased funding for NSF. His interest and support of science, however, extends to urging Congress, the Administration and the scientific, academic and business communities to work together to create a national focus on innovation policy. Rep. Wolf has worked with ACS and other members of the Task Force on the Future of American Innovation to keep innovation and competitiveness a high priority of the Bush Administration.
  • Rep. Kind, a member of the House Education and the Workforce Committee, is a leader of the New Democrat Coalition. His support for improving math and science education deepened after a Congressional visit to China which focused on that country's investment in these subjects. Among the legislation he supports is a bill directing NSF to establish a competitive grant program for undergraduate institutions to improve opportunities for education and job training in math, science, engineering and technology.
Photos are available upon request.


The American Chemical Society -- the world's largest scientific society -- is a nonprofit organization chartered by the U.S. Congress and a global leader in providing access to chemistry-related research through its multiple databases, peer-reviewed journals and scientific conferences. Its main offices are in Washington, D.C., and Columbus, Ohio.

Disclaimer: AAAS and EurekAlert! are not responsible for the accuracy of news releases posted to EurekAlert! by contributing institutions or for the use of any information through the EurekAlert system.